The township of Spring Hill historically played an important role in transportation of Iron Ore from Cadia Mine through the town, with the Ore being taken to Port Kembla Steel Works. The Railway Hotel, as it is known today was erected by Edward Davis and opened in 1911, replacing the Railway Arms Hotel which was established next door in 1878.
The hotel is located under 20 minutes to Orange, and Millthorpe just down the road. This hotel is well supported by the local community and its surrounds, and this is evident by the support the Hotel offers back to its community.
This Freehold boasts old world charm having been built in 1911, with many improvements made over the years.
The hotel services the township of Springhill and has a courtesy bus transport to outlying towns including Orange, Bathurst and surrounding villages.
The single bar operation services the entire hotel and seats over 50 for dinner
There is Regular Live music, with the roaring open fireplace adding to the inviting ambiance of the hotel in the winter months.
There are 3 letting rooms and the bathroom has been refurbished.
A large undercover beer garden is popular with the patrons in all weather conditions. There is also a separate vacant block adjacent to the Hotel is included, which could be used to build accommodation or a market garden for the kitchen and community. With the recent recognition of Orange and district as a Tourism destination by the state and federal government, this hotel is well situated to be a part of the ever increasing tourist scene.
• Pool Table
• Kids play area
If this pub could talk it would have some great stories to tell, it was established in 1878 and has played an important part in the community ever since.